Don’t Miss this Giveaway!

Happy New Year!! Today, January 1st, is the day that many of stop and reflect on the year past, as well as look to the one ahead.

One day, in summer 2014, I had lunch with a very dear friend.  She and I always chat about our stamping, sewing and embroidery hobbies.  When I was more active as a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator, she was one of my original hostesses back in 2002!  We’ve been fast friends, sharing all sorts of ideas, sources, inspiration, even our name!!  Anyway, the reason I mentioned this, is because at the time, I was still sick with grief over the unexpected loss of my mother in January.  We had spent the last six months cleaning and clearing out the family home, to include Mom’s three craft rooms, which included over 10,000 yards of fabric (trust me, no exaggeration there!) I was exhausted and sad, and needed a spark to get me going again, to feel normal & productive again.  I was telling Kathleen that I had always wanted to create my own digital sewing patterns.  I was a huge fan of http://www.youcanmakethis.com since the beginning, and always thought that would be something I would enjoy creating.

As the conversation progressed, Kathleen demanded to know what I needed to do to realize this…and I didn’t know.  I had tried to find a pattern making class…or fashion design, without any luck.  I was stuck. She made me promise to find out what I needed to get that start. Two months later, Pixie Faire opened their first ever “Pattern Academy”. Despite being a very busy month at work, I decided to sign up, knowing I could work at my own pace when work allowed me to, even after it was over.  And that started my little journey, that has led me here…about to publish my 13th and 14th patterns!!  Woot woot!

So that was a really long way to get to my point…which is the side product of that pattern class. No, not the patterns I’ve published, but actually the new friends I’ve made and met…who inspire me daily and demand my best as we cheer either other on and pick each other up when we stumble.  (Not only in pattern design, but in life too!)

So this year…I offer a toast to my tribe:  the Patternistas!!  You ladies are amazing and I can’t wait to see what we all do next!!! Thank you all from the bottom of my heart!!

Since you’ve read this far, you must be anxious to hear about the giveaway! One of these amazing ladies, is Diane, of 18onMain.  She is being featured in Pixie Faire’s 12 days of giveaways tomorrow, Jan 2nd as the 9th day. You have to check this out! Not only can you win her incredible My Baby patterns, you can win a Bitty Baby doll and clothes too!! So hurry on over and enter to win!!  Here’s the link: 12 days of giveaways.

12

And I wish you many hours of happy sewing in 2016!!!

~Kat

 

