Halloween Costume Parade

Do the girls in your life like to match their dolls? My daughter did for years…even her Halloween costumes had to match. Here’s a few of our favorites from over the years.

  1.  Super Molly- this one was pretty simple.  I simply had to make a tee shirt, a mask, and a cape for Molly…she used a tutu she already had.  We decided on colors and a theme, and I used the tutorial in this post here.  It’s been a few years, but I did use the printable masks and simply shrink it down until it was doll sized.  With a little bit of heat and bond, you can easily add a custom logo to a tee shirt and cape- you don’t even have to sew it.  Simply follow Megan’s no fail methods for perfect results.
  1. Tutu Cute Angel- another easy costume…I purchased the tutu and the wings at the party store, and created the corset myself. This angel corset was a prequel to my newest pattern, “Sugar n Spice and Everything Nice”, which has instructions for both a corset and a tutu, which are worn over the doll’s clothes (or dress in the case of my pattern.)
  2. Little Orhan Annie-I made these dresses for “Character Day” at school.  The public school system is not allowed to endorse “Halloween” (nor Christmas actually…so the entire winter chorus concert had songs about the Winter Solstace”.)  I used a pattern making software program to create the dress.  I’m not even sure which one it was, but it was very clunky and I don’t remember going back into it after this. If I was going to make it again, I would use the Sugar n Spice pattern with a Sixth Grade Skirt attached to it to create the A line look.  The sparkle fabric gives it a little bit of a modern touch. I don’t think Little Orphan Annie wore glitter.  😉

Molly and her dolls don’t dress alike any more, boo hoo, so I encourage you to enjoy the tradition while it lasts in your house.  Check back to see my latest Halloween costume made from Oh Sew Kat! current patterns! In the meantime, be sure to visit the INSPIRATION GALLERY to get more Halloween ideas for dolls.

Share your doll’s Halloween costumes with #ohsewkat on Instagram, twitter and facebook!

Sewing patterns for dolls

One thought on “Halloween Costume Parade

Comments are closed.