Halloween Costume Parade Too: Elsa Costume

This year, I challenged myself to create a Halloween costume using only my own patterns.  I brainstormed a list, which you can find below, of some ways to take the patterns I already have, and create a new look with just a few tweaks.  I’m delighted with the results!! Presenting….Elsa and Little Elsa (otherwise known as Lanie and Camille).

Elsa sewing patterns for dolls by oh sew kat wellie wishers and 18 inch dolls

 

I used the POPSICLE TOP pattern, in a sparky blue fabric. I used the same fabric as the skirt for the inside of the top…the best part is, after Halloween, my dolls have a versatile separate to add to their closet, because I did not sew it to the skirt.  I glued on some craft show crystal chains, like these, because there are not any small children in my house any more. Be sure to trim your doll outfits in age appropriate trims.

oh sew kat popsicle top sewing pattern for dolls

The long skirts are made from the SIXTH GRADE SKIRT pattern.  I taped each pattern piece to a new sheet of copy paper, and made a new hemline (four inches down for Wellies and 5 1/2 inches down for the 18 inch girls).  Using my ruler, I just extended the lines to create new pieces.  I will say, this worked perfectly for the WellieWishers.  The geometry is a little off for the bigger girls, as the skirt got proportionally wider the farther down I went.  If I were going to make this again, I’d take a good piece from the middle, and possibly the side fronts so it didn’t flare out quite so wide.

oh sew kat sewing patterns for dolls like wellie wishers

I wanted the dress to shimmer, but didn’t want to mess with satin fabrics (I’m kind of lazy that way!).  I cut my pieces from regular Kona cotton…and cut squares of glitter tulle (off the bolt from Joann’s) that were larger than my pieces.  After seaming the sides, I simply trimmed the excess tulle and created a beautiful effect that is completely sewn into the skirt.  The cape is simply a hemmed rectangle of snowflake sheer fabric, and the snowflakes are from a scrapbooking sticker set like these. Not a permanent solution to be sure, but definitely will give your Ice Queen give a nice “cool” effect. The crown was from a limited edition holiday outfit from American Girl®.  These are the patterns I used:

What other costumes can you make from these same simple patterns?  Here’s a short list to get you thinking…

Ohsewkat pdf sewing patterns for dolls

Leave a Reply

