Angel Tree Donation Doll Clothes & Special Holiday Pattern Bundle

This holiday season, my daughter’s school has an angel tree.  Each student was asked to pick an ornament and buy a gift for a local child. The local children had certain requests, and the students divided the ornaments up so each one had about the same value.  There were three ornaments asking for a $25 gift card to Kohl’s to combine together for the mother to buy an American Girl Doll.

<Smile!>

 

It took a few emails, but I was able to determine that the doll requested was the 18 inch doll of the year, Leah, not the smaller WellieWishers. These are the only dolls available at Kohl’s.  I set to work to make up a few “outfits” to go with our gift card.  Here is what I finally settled on.  Find the links to buy these patterns at the end of this post. I also put together a special HOLIDAY BUNDLE of these four patterns at a special price in my Etsy shop.

First up, pajamas.  Every doll needs comfy Pj’s.  It’s winter here, so I didn’t want to do a shortie nightie (April Moon pattern), but the Playtime Peasant pattern offered a perfect top! I did it in a soft flannel.  The pants are from the April Moon pattern.  If I was to do it again, I’d probably make the pants long pants instead of capris.

 

I recently did a few Sugar n Spice dresses from a pretty holly print.  I decided the dress (and the matching shoes I made) would be included as well as a bright over skirt for even more options.  I added some length to the sleeves of the Sugar n Spice puffed sleeve to make it a long sleeve dress.  The shoe pattern is called “Plain Janes” and is by LuvUBunches.  This was my first pair of shoes I ever made!

 

Finally, I wanted to make something that tied directly to the Girl of the Year, Leah.  Her entire collection is a tropical theme, and I found this bright parrot fabric in my stash.  Boardwalk Boutique makes a perfect tropical outfit, and is so quick and easy!

img_8437

Overall, I’m very excited for this little girl, whomever she is, to wake up on Christmas morning and find a Leah doll under her tree, along with a few special clothes too.  I hope she likes them.  🙂  Does your family do anything special for others this holiday season?

Sewing patterns for 18 inch dolls by Oh Sew Kat! Wellie wishers doll clothes

Here are the patterns I used: Find them at http://www.etsy.com/shop/ohsewkat and at PixieFaire.  Get all four and SAVE with the Etsy Exclusive Holiday Bundle! (No substitutions or refunds on any pattern bundles.)

 

 

Ohsewkat pdf sewing patterns for dolls

 

Leave a Reply

